Back in Yogyakarta

Foot print in flood. Bangkok, Thailand, Nov 2011 © Budi N.D. Dharmawan

Foot print in flood. Bangkok, Thailand, Nov 2011 © Budi N.D. Dharmawan

Hand print on wall. Bangkok, Thailand, November 2011 © Budi N.D. Dharmawan

Hand print on wall. Bangkok, Thailand, November 2011 © Budi N.D. Dharmawan

I am now back in Yogyakarta, resting my legs and shoulders, after a whole month of travels—from Yogyakarta to Jakarta, Kuala Lumpur, Penang, Bangkok, then back to Jakarta via Kuala Lumpur, and home finally.

In Bangkok, I got my portfolio reviewed and re-edited by Giulio di Sturco during a workshop. Great opportunity to learn from the Bangkok-based Italian photographer.

After the workshop, I spent some time visiting my old mentor, Philip Blenkinsop and Yonola Viguerie, at their new “2snakestudio” in Chinatown area. Good talk about photography and life with Philip, and specifically about art with Yonola. The studio will officially open for public on 23 November; too bad I will not be able to make it. However if you are going to Photo Phnom Penh festival in Cambodia, which opens on 26 November, you will get to meet them there.

I also had the chance to meet Sohrab Hura, an Indian photographer who attended the World Press Photo Joop Swart Masterclass few years ago. He was on his way to Siem Reap, Cambodia, for Angkor Photo Festival, in which he is involved in coordinating the Anjali Photo Workshop for Cambodian kids. Unfortunately we only had a small talk over dinner. Wish to talk more with him someday.

Then from Bangkok, I went to Jakarta for a week to meet and interview people, for an assignment that I have been working on since June 2011. It has been wonderful to meet those amazing people, really fruitful for the assignment. And after all was done, I went home. I will still be working on that assignment until next year; long term project. Other than that, I am now also preparing to work on another project. For this one, I will be travelling by land along a river in Java, Indonesia, for a few weeks and of course taking photographs.

And in-between, I am now just going to relax a little and spend some time with friends here in Yogyakarta. ■

Leave a Reply

